Bons mots

Slips of my tongue

My Fey-vorite Writer

I love Tina Fey. In this world of Paris Hiltons, Britney Spears and Lindsay Lohans, Tina is like the fresh air of the country blowing in your face after escaping the smog of the city . She’s intelligent, witty, the creator and star of one of the best shows on television – 30 Rock – and was formerly the head writer on Saturday Night Live during one of their not-so-bad seasons. Plus, she proves that women can be hot and sexy in glasses. (Which, until recently, mattered to me since I used to wear glasses. Then I got lasik eye surgery because I think I look better without glasses. Yes, I am aware of the irony.)

So when I heard about the upcoming Tina Fey movie Baby Mama, about a single woman who wants a baby, I thought “Oh no, they got her, too!”. After all these chick flicks in the theatres about women as princesses (Enchanted) or bridesmaids-wanting-to-be-brides (27 Dresses) it seems Hollywood hates women over 30 who are single and childless. The world does not need another cinematic diatribe on how miserable it is to be a single woman. Apparently, we have not come a long way, baby – if I had a dollar for every time someone asked me “Why aren’t you married?” I would be rich enough to have these people killed.

But after watching the trailer I have renewed hope. Fey plays a single woman who wants a baby but is unable to have one. So she turns to a surrogate, played by another of my favorite comediennes, Amy Poehler, and hilarity ensues. I hope Tina puts a unique spin on this retched genre. Enjoy.

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | There is hope... | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Interesting. I love Tiny Fey as well – mostly because she is unafraid to be an intelligent woman and defies bimbo culture.

    Comment by Melanie | July 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

