Bons mots

Slips of my tongue

The apocalypse is nigh…

The Hills was a topic on Jeopardy recently. Does anyone else find this horribly disturbing?

Source: http://fashionista.com. (Yes, I am aware of the irony.)

Has Jeopardy run out of topics? Could they not come up with any more Survivor questions? I don’t mind the inclusion of pop culture into the show. In this case, reality television has made an impact on the entertainment industry, whether you like the genre or not. But a “reality show” that is obviously scripted? One that has given us the most vapid, hollow celebrities ever to grace Hollywood (aside from Paris Hilton)? At this rate, future contestants will have to be well-versed on Flavor of Love or Celebrity Rehab.

Oh Alex, why have you forsaken us?

July 12, 2008 - Posted by | Why the world is going to hell in a handbasket | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. They had an entire topic on The Hills?! Was it Teen Week Jeopardy or something for that episode? I completely agree with your post and also find the whole scenario a little perplexing. I mean, I am sure the majority of Jeopardy contestants are far from caught up on the lives of Lauren and Heidi. In a way, I find the inclusion of The Hills in Jeopardy is slightly insulting to the intelligence of contestants. So I must ask: Were they actually able to answer the questions? And on the first try?

    Who knows what they’ll resort to next … how about Gossip Girl?

    Comment by Michelle | July 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. I don’t know if it was Teen Week. All I know is, the category was TV Women and this question (or answer) was for $1600.00.

    Regardless, they should stay away from vacuous topics like this. Get back to the basics.

    Comment by bonsmots | July 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m finding a bit scary that I’m actually relieved it was a question about The Hills, and not A Shot at Love.

    Comment by meighan | July 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. I can hear the four horsemen approaching now…..I think this is a case of being famous, for simply being.

    Honestly, where will the reality tv genre end? I’m making bets on the first live coverage tv execution. Or perhaps Suvivor, season 25. Where they mix in a Saw like challenge.

    Probst to contestants. “These rats have not been fed in weeks, the last member standing after being knawed at wins the challenge!”

    Comment by Karina | July 20, 2008 | Reply

  5. I think that the pop culture questions Jeopardy includes are meant to be funny and ironic, no? Often they make the studio audience laugh and I think the producers (or whoever writes those questions) include them in just for fun. And I agree with Meighan that at least it wasn’t about Tila Tequila.

    Comment by thatsroger | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  6. Not to create a hornet’s nest, but, I get irritated at how often the category “The Bible” comes up in Jeopardy. In a multi-faith, multi-cultural nation like Canada (and the US), I think it’s a bit exclusionary.

    Comment by Christine Smith | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. I agree, Christine. I don’t recall seeing topics like “The Koran” or “The Torah.”

    Comment by bonsmots | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  8. The Hills? What’s that?

    Comment by Darlene | August 6, 2008 | Reply

  9. It’s a vacuous “reality” show (and I use the term loosely) about some spoiled, rich teens in Southern California.

    There are reports, and confirmations from the participants, that a lot of the show is scripted. The popularity of the show has made celebrities out of people who have no discernable talent.

    Comment by Bonnie Dean | August 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

